Mississippi 811, Inc. / MARIS
Data Distribution Agreement

Who is Mississippi 811, Inc.?

Mississippi 811, Inc. (MS811) is the statewide "call before you dig" center, which establishes a statewide communications link between those who dig underground and those who own and operate underground facilities in Mississippi. Our purpose is to eliminate damages and reduce the chance of injury or death, destruction of public and private property and loss or interruption of services vital to public health and safety. MS811 is a not-for-profit organization funded by member facility/utility owner operators engaged in the communications, Gas Transmission, Gas Distribution, Electric Power, Products/Pipeline, Municipal Gas/Water/Sewer, cable TV, and other industries.

MS811 website

Available Layers:
  • Addresses - Address points centered over structures (counties that MS811 has collected and verified as part of the Addressing Project Initiative: Unincorporated areas ONLY
  • Building Footprints - Building footprint polygons for Mississippi structures (2018 MDEQ)
  • Places - City limits boundaries
  • Highways - County and city highway centerlines
  • Points of Interest (POI) - Points and Polygons
    • Institutions - Churches, Fire Departments, Post Offices, etc...
    • Poi_Polygon - Airports, Parks, Cemeteries, etc...
  • Railroads - Railroad centerlines (2018 MARIS)
  • Recreation Trails - Recreational trail centerlines
  • Streets - County roads and city street centerlines
  • Water - NHD Flowlines (2019 MDEQ) and NHD water bodies (2019 MDEQ)
Data Accuracy:

All layers have been collected using a combination of 1-meter or less aerial imagery or 1 to 5 meter GPS units.

Data Format:

The data will be available for the entire state of Mississippi by county in ESRI shapefile format in WGS84 Lat/Long projection. Metadata is contained within the attribute table for each layer. It is MS811's goal to update each county at least once yearly. However, there will be times when this will not be possible. Updates will be sent to MARIS as they are completed.
All layers for each county will be zipped with the naming schema <county> Last_Updated.zip along with a disclaimer and MS811 logo to be used on hard-copy maps.


Data will be available to organizations that will be using the data in-house without intent to distribute or sell. Data distribution will be based on a signed agreement. Requests for the data will be submitted to MARIS.

To order Mississippi 811 data:
  1. Download the Distribution Agreement .PDF Download
  2. Fill out the form and sign
  3. Email or Fax to MARIS at swalker@mississippi.edu or (601) 432-6893
  4. MARIS will send FTP instructions
County Updates: (latest update Sep 2019):

Data will be available to organizations that will be using the data in house without intent to distribute or sell. Data distribution will be based on a signed agreement. Requests for the data will be submitted to MARIS.

Adams Feb 2018 Alcorn Sep 2019 AmiteApr 2018 AttalaSep 2019 BentonJan 2018
BolivarAug 2020 CalhounJul 2015 CarrollJan 2020 ChickasawMar 2020 ChoctawOct 2020
ClaiborneJan 2016 ClarkeMar 2020 ClayFeb 2021 CoahomaFeb 2020 CopiahAug 2020
CovingtonFeb 2020 DeSotoMar 2021 ForrestAug 2020 FranklinAug 2018 GeorgeAug 2018
GreeneApr 2017 GrenadaMar 2020 HancockJul 2020 HarrisonNov 2020 HindsAug 2020
HolmesMay 2019 HumphreysJul 2018 IssaquenaJan 2018 ItawambaMar 2020 JacksonNov 2020
JasperMar 2020 JeffersonFeb 2017 Jefferson DavisFeb 2018 JonesMar 2020 KemperOct 2016
LafayetteJul 2020 LamarMar 2020 LauderdaleMar 2020 LawrenceJul 2020 LeakeJul 2020
LeeMar 2020 LefloreJul 2020 LincolnApr 2019 LowndesOct 2020 MadisonNov 2020
MarionMar 2020 MarshallJan 2018 MonroeMar 2020 MontgomeryMay 2018 NeshobaFeb 2018
NewtonFeb 2019 NoxubeeOct 2020 OktibbehaOct 2020 PanolaMar 2020 Pearl RiverMar 2020
PerryMar 2017 PikeMar 2020 PontotocAug 2018 PrentissJun 2020 QuitmanAug 2019
RankinFeb 2021 ScottApr 2019 SharkeyAug 2018 SimpsonFeb 2021 SmithFeb 2020
StoneAug 2019 SunflowerMar 2020 TallahatchieFeb 2021 TateJun 2018 TippahMar 2019
TishomingoFeb 2018 TunicaSep 2020 UnionMar 2020 WalthallApr 2018 WarrenJan 2019
WashingtonMar 2020 WayneMar 2020 WebsterOct 2020 WilkinsonJul 2017 WinstonOct 2020
YalobushaFeb 2016 YazooAug 2019